Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

STEM Nova Awards

About STEM—Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics

STEM is part of an initiative the Boy Scouts of America has taken on to encourage the natural curiosity of youth members and their sense of wonder about these fields through existing programs. From archery to welding, Scouts can’t help but enjoy the wide range of STEM-related activities. To support this initiative, the BSA developed the Nova Awards program so that youth members have fun and receive recognition for their efforts.

What Are the Nova Awards?

The Boy Scouts of America developed the Nova Awards program to excite and expand a sense of wonder in our Scouts. By working with an adult counselor or mentor, the various modules allow them to explore the basic principles of STEM and discover how fun and fascinating STEM can be. The Supernova awards are offered for those who enjoy a super challenge. For more information about STEM and the Nova Awards program, visit Discover how the Nova Awards program helps youth be “Prepared. For Life.”

In order to pursue the Nova & Supernova awards, scouts must be in the Wolf year or later. However, we strongly urge that scouts be at the Bear level before working on Supernova award. The topics covered are pretty advanced.

Here is the complete Cub Scout-level booklet describing the program in greater depth, with a complete set of requirements for all of the awards.

“Nova” Award requirements for Wolf, Bear, Webelos, and Arrow of Light Scouts

“Supernova” Award requirements for Wolf and Bear Scouts*

“Supernova” Award requirements for Webelos and Arrow of Light Scouts*

* Although it is not a requirement, it is highly recommended that the boys earn at least 2 of the 4 Nova awards before earning the appropriate Supernova award.


© 2018 Millbury Pack 108 - Boy Scouts of America | WordPress Admin
© 2018 Millbury Pack 108 - Boy Scouts of America
WordPress Admin