Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Religious Emblems & Patches

In addition to Rank Advancement, Cub Scouts can earn other Badges and Awards.  This includes the Religious Emblem which strives to meet the spiritual growth, the second purpose of Cub Scouting.

Religious Emblems

Duty to God is a key point at all levels of Scouting. “The Boy Scouts of America maintains that no member can grow into the best kind of citizen without recognizing an obligation to God and, therefore, recognizes the religious element in the training of the member, but it is absolutely nonsectarian in its attitude toward that religious training.  Its policy is that the home and organization or group with which a member is connected shall give definite attention to religious life.”

Religious emblems are not a Scouting award. It is conferred on a Scout by his religious leader.  Each faith has its own requirements for earning its emblem.  The Pack recognizes the Scout with a Religious Knot they can wear on their uniform.  A religious Emblem satisfies the Rank ‘Duty to God’ requirement.


* The majority of the Protestant, independent, and non-denominational churches endorse these religious emblems but it is important that you check with your pastor before starting any religious emblem program.

Catholic Scouts, please, refer to this document for all the details.  PDF versions of the workbooks are available below.

The BSA publishes a flyer with all almost every faith and the religious emblems they offer or you could talk to your local religious leader for more information.  Some of the workbooks have been scanned and can be found at the bottom of this page for printing.  Others you will need to buy at a Scout store or from

light-of-christ-small-1                    parvuli-dei-small-1

godme-1                                       godfamily

Religious Patch Series

The National Committee on Catholic Scouting offers five series of Religious Activities and two International Activities, to which interested youth and adults will find fun and easy ways to learn more about their faith, Catholic role models and become more aware of the faith community and cultures around the world.

Eligibility: All youth and adults—Scouts or non-Scouts, Catholic or non-Catholic, male or female—are welcome to participate in the Religious Activities provided by the National Catholic Committee on Scouting®. The Five Series of Religious Activities, include: Rosary Series, Marian Series, Footsteps of American Saints, Footsteps of Modern Saints and Faith Series. The International Activities include International Awareness and Blessed Are Merciful – Keep The Lamp Burning Activities. All of these activities may be used by groups, families, schools, or any Cub Scout, Boy Scout, Venturer, Girl Scout, American Heritage Girl, or Campfire USA.

All the details are found here:

© 2018 Millbury Pack 108 - Boy Scouts of America | WordPress Admin
© 2018 Millbury Pack 108 - Boy Scouts of America
WordPress Admin